Organization Profile

The Hong Kong Catholic Marriage Advisory Council is a voluntary organization. It was established in 1965 by Fr. Edward Collins, S.J. (the first appointed Chairman) at the request of the late Bishop Lawrence Bianchi (the first President) to provide Hong Kong with a specialized agency for the improvement of marriage and parenthood. It was formally incorporated in 1967.

 

The Agency started with Natural Family Planning Services in a few Catholic Hospitals. In 1966, Family Life Education for couples and parents were introduced. Marriage Counselling Services did not begin till 1968 and soon after Pre-Marriage Education. Marriage Mediation Counselling, the first of its kind in Hong Kong, started as a cooperation with the Legal Aid Department, Hong Kong Government in 1988.

 

From 1990s, the Council pioneered various kinds of family and marital services like Parish Volunteers Couples Training Project on delivery of Pre-Marriage Courses for newly-wed couples in churches. A Guangzhou Natural Family Planning Project has also been set up to render and promote related consulting service in Mainland China. FOCCUS Service for premarried couples, Marital Sexual Dysfunctional Therapy and REFOCCUS Service for couples were established in 2000 and 2001, respectively.

 

In 2004, we launched the Love and Life Education for the students of Catholic Schools. In the same year, the Council streamlined the Marriage Counselling and Family Life Education teams into an Integrated Family Service Centre to provide needy families with one stop services with a community based approach. In order to provide quality Marital Counselling Service, a Self-Financed Specialized Service team was set up in 2006. We further adopted the Emotional Focused Therapy to guide our professional practice as well as professional training. In response to the increasing demands on quality marital counselling and professional training among practitioners, we have set up the Counselling and Training Centre at our Headquarters since 2012. In view of the growing counselling needs of the divorced families, we launched the first co-parenting services for the divorced/separated parents and their children in Hong Kong in 2008. With the support from the Catholic Diocese of Hong Kong, we rolled out the projects on Continuing Marriage Education and Counselling Service for Catholic Couples in 2013 and 2015, respectively. The projects aimed at cultivating quality and long lasting relationship for Catholic Couples. In response to the ageing society, we initiated a new project in 2016, helping the retired couples to adjust to retirement and enhance their intimacy in their golden ages.

 

Major funding support from the Social Welfare Department, The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust, The Community Chest of Hong Kong and the Catholic Diocese of Hong Kong contribute greatly towards the steady growth of the Agency over the years.

Organization Chart

机构简介

香港公教婚姻辅导会是一所天主教志愿机构。于 1965 年得到当时的白英奇主教批准,由耶稣会郭乐施神父创立。本会于 1967 年正式註册为服务社团,并以促进美满婚姻及促使父母善尽天职为宗旨。

 

本会起初在数间天主教医院提供自然家庭计划服务。直到 1966 年,本会开始推行「人际关係」的讲座(即现今的家庭生活教育)。婚姻辅导于 1968 年开始投入服务,其后不久增加婚前培育服务。至 1988 年,本会更与法律援助处携手合作开创婚姻调解服务。

 

从 1990 年起,本会率先推出了各种崭新的家庭及婚姻服务,如为天主教未婚夫妇而设的教友婚前培育计划。与此同时,本会亦在广州推行自然家庭计划服务,在国内提供及宣传相关的生育辅导服务。于 2000 至 2001 年,FOCCUS 婚前评估服务、性障碍治疗服务和教友补礼服务亦相继成立。

 

2004 年,本会在天主教学校推行专门帮助青少年的「爱与生命」教育。同年并将婚姻辅导与家庭生活教育服务转营为一间综合家庭服务中心,以便为有需要的家庭提供以社区为本的「一站式」家庭服务。于 2006 年,本会更成立了一支以自负盈亏形式营运的专业服务发展团队,以提供优质的婚姻辅导服务。此外,为进一步提高专业的辅导服务,本会更引入情绪取向治疗培训课程,继而在 2012 年,正式成立辅导及培训中心举办专业辅导训练课程。为了回应离异家庭的需要,本会在 2008 年, 推出了在香港首项为离异或分居夫妇而设的离异父母共亲职计划。本会得到天主教香港教区的资助,于 2013 年及 2015 年相继推行教友婚后培育计划及教友婚姻辅导服务,协助教友建立高质素及恆久的婚姻关係。回应本港人口老化现象,本会于 2016 年推展一项「相繫乐晚晴」计划,协助即将退休的夫妇适应退休生活及增加彼此连繫。

 

本会的经费主要来自社会福利署、香港赛马会慈善信託基金、香港公益金及天主教香港教区,这些宝贵的资助让我们的工作得以稳步发展。

组织架构